The Wonders

When I was a little child I always loved to watching  a painting that my father used to have in the living room… The painting was located on the back of the big couch. I remember having to climb the couch to watch more closely… The pictures were beautiful: in the center was a world map and on the right side the “The four seasons” in the left side “The four elements” and spread up and down “The Seven Wonders of the World”:  The Hanging Gardens of Babylon, the Temple of Artemis at Ephesus, the Statue of Zeus at Olympia, the Mausoleum of  Halicarnassus, the Colossus of Rhodes, the Great Pyramid of Giza and the Lighthouse of Alexandria…

Big part of my childhood I spend it watching at that picture and asking many questions that surely made my father crazy: “Who made them?; Why?; It took a long time to build them?; Why they are called wonders?; You were there?”

This picture generated such a big curiosity in my head! One day I get angry because my father wanted to take me to the park to ride my bike… But I wanted to go to one of the wonders!!! I was sure I was going to have a lot of fun… My father explained to me with all the love: _ “My dear we can’t go to the Colossus of Rhodes, unfortunately it doesn’t exist anymore… and even if  it’s still there it would be so far away and we will not return for the tea time” at my expression he continues: _ “the wonders no longer exist because they were destroyed in ancient times… in those years many things happened, things like earthquakes, invasions, fires, battles… all were lost, were reduced to rubble …”

A confusing and bitter silence invaded me… curiously i didn’t have any question…

But my father looked at the picture again, smiled and said: _ “But still there the Great Pyramid of Giza, in Egypt”… and pointed his finger showing me where Egypt was located on the map…

When you are five years old it’s difficult to understand some things… or even imagine the future…

With the course of the years I remembered this sweet story of my childhood while I was watching The Great Pyramid of Giza through my window…

Magda Monti

Responder

