Art and Revolution

From the backstage I could hear a song that is used in the performance of Tannoura show. The song speaks about Egypt, it’s triumphant … So came to my mind images of a time not so far: A year ago.
On January 25, 2011, the revolution that overthrew Hosny Mubarak, who was in power for almost 32 years. After 18 days of uncertainty, including service interruptions on  internet and mobile phone to prevent more popular revolts, (this angered the Egyptians) February 11, 2011 Finally Omar Soleiman made the resignation announcement: “In the name of God, the merciful: for these very difficult circumstances that Egypt is going on, President Hosni Mubarak has decided to resign from the office of President of the Republic and has asked the High Armed Forces Council to administer the affairs of the country. May God guide our steps “…
After the celebrations and joy had to return to normal life, right? But…
“Time had stopped, everything seemed unchanged…” the country was paralyzed and the uncertainty consuming us. In the streets you could see military tanks rather than tourists, who left Egypt because of fear or perhaps on the advice of any media of communication … I decided to stay.
I was very criticized and disqualified for some readers in a discussion of “La Gaceta”, in its online edition (the newspaper in my city, San Miguel de Tucuman, Northern Argentina) telling me that my focus must to be “the dance” and I must to shut up, arguing that because of my profession I was not qualified or suitable to comment … Question: Why I should not “talk” or comment? The dancers can’t think? That’s curious! Lot of people boast of the prejudices that exist in the Middle East but they do not escape their own prejudices!
Happily also I received many comments full of words of encouragement from people who really understood my message: “TELL what I was seeing, as I was witnessing a historical process, not more nor less.”
The days passed and life continuous (so to speak in a way because there were many lost and the feeling of uncertainty is still present). Never stopped the rumors of all kinds. In the absence of an authority many things happened, and next to the things that happen also created many urban legends…
It is not my intention to enter into any political debate but to clarify a some of points. Some time ago a rumor start to circulating in the West, says that inevitably  Egypt will be transformed into an Islamic state. I am not able to disprove the rumor, but I’m not affirming it.
It is very easy to “predict” from a panel in any television program. The revolts of the Middle East seem to be the BOOM and “talkers” abound.  For them, perhaps a Syrian, a Saudi Arabian or Egyptian are the same thing. “Talkers” who never set one foot near of what they call “Arab countries” they take the liberty to assume something that not even the protagonists of the story known.
In addition there are two types of Islamic political parties, one a little more liberal and the other not at all. There are other political parties without religious orientation… But the media choose to emphasize on the “extremist Islam”.
Here in Egypt are very diverse opinions. Some people speak with great confidence and believe that a democratic government is coming. Some people believe that democracy is not possible here, at least for now. Some people don’t know, they have no answer … and as in many places there are people who are not interested …
Many times many people asked me what would I do if Egypt turns into an “Islamic State” or a place where art is not possible. Surely I would be very sad … but beware! not so much for me … no. It would break my heart in pieces for the Egyptian artists: dancers, choreographers, actors, producers of shows, designers, singers, musicians … because Egypt is not only Raks Sharqi, is a place where art is manifested in thousand ways, and even more after the Revolution!
What Egyptian artists would do if in their own country were unable to express? Moving to another country perhaps? Who can make travel possible and get a visa, sure will travel… If it’s not possible they will be forced to do something else.
What about the Christians? are not msjority, of course, but they are Egyptians. And what would do the Muslim women who “chose” to not wear a veil? They will be forced to wear it? Recently, a reporter (female) interviewed a member of the extremist party, the question was precisely this: “What do I do if I don’t want to wear a veil?” and the man answered: “You are free to stay at home … ”
What about the tourism? What about… so many things?? I’m getting goosebumps just thinking about it… The truth is the I can think of only one word: RUIN.
It would hurt a lot. But I’m like many foreigners who live here in this beautiful country (im very grateful with my beloved Egypt) we could move to another location or return to our countries … But the Egyptians?
A few days ago I saw a trailer for a documentary that will be available soon, which I super recommend: “The noise of Cairo” … Speaking of Cairo, Art and Revolution. I burst into tears, and a phrase stuck with me: “Egypt is now like a fresh bride, ready to start a new life.”
I hope from the bottom of my heart the best for Egypt and its people. Whatever happens, I hope it happens in peace, without violence and without blood. I have nothing more than gratitude and a deep love for Egypt. Not to sound dramatic, but at some point in my life had lost many things … and those things came back to me when I get here… I don’t mean material things , I mean essences of life that change us and transform us forever.

2 comentarios en “Art and Revolution

Responder

